Student mentor applications for 2018 are now closed.
 

If you have any questions please email studentmentors@uq.edu.au

Young Achievers Program - Time Commitment & Dates

Event Date

UQYAP Selection Evening

Tuesday 4 September 2018 (4–8pm)

UQYAP Meet & Greet 

Tuesday 2 October 2018 (5–8pm)

UQ Student Mentor Training

Monday 19 November 2018 (8.30am–5pm)

UQYAP Mentor Training

Tuesday 20 – Wednesday 21 November 2018 (9am–5pm)

UQYAP Year 11 Residential Camp

Monday 21 – Friday 25 January 2019 (including
evenings). Accommodation and meals provided
for the duration of the residential camp.

UQYAP Mentor Phone Call Training

Wednesday 27 February 2019 (5–7pm)

UQYAP Monthly Phone Calls

One weeknight a month for two years during
Semesters 1 – 2 (on-campus)

UQ St Lucia Open Day

Sunday 4 August 2019 (8am–2pm)
and 2020 (date TBC)

UQYAP Mentor Training

Monday 18 – Tuesday 19 November 2019 (9am–5pm)

UQYAP Year 12 Residential Camp

Monday 13 – Friday 17 January 2020 including
evenings. Accommodation and meals provided
for the duration of the residential camp.

Mentors will also need to be available for other team meetings, events and debriefs as required.

Young Scholars Program - Time Commitment & Dates

Event Date

YSP Student Mentor Selection Evening

Tuesday 4 September 2018 (4–8pm)

YSP Mentor Team ‘Meet & Greet’ 

Wednesday 3 October 2018 (4–8pm)

UQ Student Mentor Training

Monday 19 November 2018 (8.30am–5pm)

YSP Mentor Training

Tuesday 20 – Thursday 22 November 2018 (8am–5pm)

Camp Move In

Saturday 24 November 2018. (9am onwards, including
evening. Stay overnight for the camp commencing the
next day).

YSP Five-Day Residential Camp

Sunday 25 November – Thursday 29 November 2018
including evenings. Accommodation and meals 
provided for the duration of the residential camp.

YSP Open Day Reunion

Sunday 4 August 2019

Please note, the role of a mentor requires your presence in the form of staying overnight during the camp and some
evening work during training sessions. Mentors will also need to be available for other team meetings, events and
debriefs as required.